New Criteria for R350 Eligibility in 2024: Treasury Announces Updates

Updated on January 20, 2024

We strongly urge low-medium income households in South Africa to read this article

This article provides detailed information about the new eligibility criteria for the R350 grant in South Africa. It is important for low-medium income households in the country to understand these criteria in order to determine if they qualify for the grant.

New R350 Eligibility Criteria

As of March 2025, the SRD Grant will continue to be implemented in South Africa, with an allocated budget of R34 billion for ongoing payments. The Treasury has introduced additional criteria to evaluate eligibility, including factors such as bank account balances.

If an individual does not meet the new criteria, they will be disqualified from receiving the grant. The National Treasury aims to prevent abuse of the system and has established two new eligibility criteria for the R350 grant.

Importance of the R350 Grant

The R350 grant, also known as the SASSA Social Relief of Distress Grant, is a financial support provided by the South African government to unemployed individuals, including refugees and holders of asylum seeker permits. It was initially introduced in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and has become a crucial means of assistance for millions of South Africans.

New Criteria for R350 Eligibility in 2024: Treasury Announces Updates

Currently, around 7 million people receive the R350 grant every month through the South African Social Security Agency (SASSA). To apply for the grant, individuals must meet the qualifying requirements and demonstrate a need for financial support. Online applications can be made through the SASSA mobile app or website.

New R350 Eligibility Criteria Overview

Article Theme: New R350 Eligibility Criteria

Complete Name of the Grant: Social Relief of Distress Grant (SRD 350)

Provided By: South Africa

Administered By: SASSA

Amount: R350

New Eligibility Criteria: To be discussed below

Announced By: Finance Minister Enoch Godongwana

More Information: Click Here

Treasury is Applying Additional Criteria to Determine R350 Eligibility

The National Treasury has recently announced the implementation of two additional criteria to determine eligibility for the R350 grant. These criteria aim to ensure that only deserving applicants receive the funding.

One of the new criteria is to verify that SRD grant applicants do not possess multiple bank accounts. Additionally, individuals with a bank account balance of R670 or more are not eligible for the social relief of distress grant.

The government is concerned that individuals may exploit the system by having multiple bank accounts, thus bypassing the restrictions in place to ensure that only deserving individuals receive the grant.

Current R350 Eligibility Criteria

In addition to the new eligibility criteria, applicants must also meet certain current requirements to be eligible for the SRD grant. They must be unemployed, citizens or permanent residents of South Africa between the ages of 18 and 59. Holders of special permits and permanent residents are also eligible for the grant.

Recipients of the SRD grant should not be receiving any other form of financial support from the South African government or affiliated institutions. They are not allowed to receive benefits from the National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) or the Unemployment Insurance Fund (UIF).

Final Words

Applicants must reapply for the SRD grant every three months to ensure that they remain eligible, as their income level may change. It is important to note that if an individual’s income exceeds the income level set for the grant, they will no longer be eligible.

Since the implementation of the new requirements in April, only 5.2 million out of 11.3 million eligible applicants have been selected to receive the grant. This is in contrast to the 10.5 million people who benefited from the R350 grant when the eligibility criteria were less strict.

We hope that this article has provided low-medium income households in South Africa with valuable information on the new R350 eligibility criteria.